15 Reasons Why You Should Be Reading Books

All you need is 1, but I’ll give you so many options — you will have no choice but to pick up that book.

Teronie Donaldson
8 min readMar 9, 2021
Photo by The Creative Exchange on Unsplash

I am a staunch advocate of reading books. I read ebooks and listen to audio, but I get the most impact from one I can touch. With an actual book, I turn the passive activity of reading into an active one.

During my journey throughout the book, I have a “debate” with the author. I become a rigorous student or devil’s advocate, depending on the subject matter.

I scribble notes and questions in the margins, and always flip back and forth. When I finish, neither I nor the book is ever the same. The book forever changed with my markings upon it like a prehistoric cave wall. And I, permanently altered with the indelible lesson implanted in my mind.

Dr. Seuss once wrote, “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

And reading is that vehicle that will take you anywhere.

Here are 15 Reasons Why You Should Be Reading Books:

--

--

Teronie Donaldson

Student of life. I write about books, productivity, reading, and applying what I learned. I hope it helps. *Check me out *https://linktr.ee/Teronie